Explore Its History
Croton Aqueduct Gatehouse 135th Street, New York City
From 1890 to 1917 all the water heading south of 135th Street and on to Central Park and Harlem flowed through this structure, containing Selden Quarry granite. This building remained in use for 100 years. An interesting study of the history and preservation of the Croton Waterworks is available here.
Interior of the Croton Aqueduct Gatehouse in 2004, before
it was renovated to create the Gatehouse Theatre.
Note: more of Lyme's history is available in the archives stored in the Lyme Public Hall, which is open Tuesdays 10 am- noon, or by appointment.
Surf Avenue in Coney Island in 1906.
Selden Island granite blocks were
used to pave this street.